You appear to be using an older version of Internet Explorer. We suggest you upgrade your browser for the best viewing experience. Upgrade to a Modern Browser

The Netherlands Becomes the 11th State to Ratify the Agreement on the Unified Patent Court (UPCA)

15 September 2016

On 14 September 2016, the Netherlands announced itself as the 11th state to complete ratification of the Agreement on the Unified Patent Court (UPCA). Germany and the UK are now the only remaining states that are required to ratify the UPCA in order for the Agreement to come into effect. The UPCA will come into effect on the first day of the fourth month after the final required ratification has been made. However, there is significant uncertainty as to whether and if so when the UK will ratify the UPCA, following the referendum result of 23 June 2016.

Can We Help You?